barscaret-downcaret-leftcaret-rightcaret-upcheckchevron-leftchevron-rightfile-pdfinfosign-in-altsignin text-widthtimesyoutube

Getting Started & Miradore Features > Device Enrollment (Adding Devices)

How to Unenroll a Device

Updated on June 17th, 2020

This article describes how a device is unenrolled from Miradore. Company data is removed during unenrollment, but there are some exceptions in the behavior due to the heterogeneous nature of device platforms and support for the available MDM features.

What happens during unenrollment

Android

Unenrolling the device from Miradore removes all configurations that have been deployed from Miradore and ends management of the device.

If the management client is uninstalled by the device user, be aware that all deployed configurations will remain on the device!

NOTE: If the Android device has been enrolled as Device owner mode (aka Work managed device), the unenrollment is not possible. The only way to “unenroll” the device is to Wipe (factory reset) it via Miradore.

iOS & macOS

Removing the management profile, either from Miradore, or from the device, removes all configurations that have been deployed from Miradore and ends the management of the device.

Windows 10

Removing the management profile from the devices removes all configurations that have been deployed from Miradore and ends the management of the device.

Windows Phone

Unenrolling the device from Miradore removes all configurations that have been deployed from Miradore and ends management of the device.

If the management profile is removed from the device, Exchange, IMAP and POP email accounts will NOT be removed! However, it is possible to prevent users from manually unenrolling their devices by a restriction configuration profile.

What doesn’t happen

Any files, such as saved email attachments won’t be deleted. In general, anything that has not been deployed using Miradore will not be deleted.

 

Instructions to unenroll a device from Miradore

1. Go to Management > Devices. Select the devices you wish to unenroll, click Lifecycle dropdown button and choose Unenroll device option.

2. From the Unenroll device wizard, confirm the unenrollment.

unenroll1.PNG

You can follow the unenrollment status in Management > Action log.

Instructions how device users can unenroll a device from Miradore

These are platform specific instructions to unenroll a device from Miradore using the device itself. Unenrollment from the device may have been denied with a restriction configuration profile. In this case, an administrator needs to unenroll the device from Miradore.

Android:

  1. Open Settings and navigate to Security > Device Administrators.
  2. Select Miradore Online Client and tap Deactivate.
  3. Open Settings and navigate to Applications > Manage Applications.
  4. Select Miradore Online Client, and tap Uninstall.

iOS:

  1. Open Settings and navigate to General > Profiles > Miradore Online.
  2. Tap Remove.

macOS:

  1. Go to System Preferences > Profiles.
  2. Choose Miradore Mobile Device Management profile and click the remove (-) button.
  3. Confirm the profile removal.

Windows 10:

  1. Open Windows Start menu and launch the “Settings” app.
  2. Open “Accounts > Access work or school” and you will see the work account that is used to manage your device.
  3. Click on the work account and choose “Disconnect” to remove the device from the device management.

Windows Phone:

  1. Open Settings and navigate to Workplace.
  2. Tap Miradore.
  3. Tap the Delete icon.
  4. Tap Delete.

 

Get started with Miradore

Start securing your devices and data today with Miradore. Create a site in just a few minutes and start adding devices immediately. You can get started for free and try out the full features with our 14-day Enterprise trial.

No credit card needed.

SIGN UP FOR MIRADORESEE PLANS AND PRICING