barscaret-downcaret-leftcaret-rightcaret-upcheckchevron-leftchevron-rightfile-pdfinfosign-in-altsignin text-widthtimesyoutube

Getting Started & Miradore Features > Security Actions

Remotely Wiping a Device

Updated on June 8th, 2021

Remote wipe is a security feature of mobile device management. It can be used, for example, to remotely erase a memory of a device in case the device gets lost or stolen. Use remote wipe also to remove personal information from a device when the owner of the device changes. This article includes general instructions on how to wipe a device remotely and explains the selective wipe of Android fully managed devices (Device owner).

Good to know

  • After a wipe, re-enroll the device to continue its management in Miradore.
  • The feature is supported on Android and iOS mobile devices and macOS and Windows 10 computers.

Steps for remotely wiping a device

1. Open Devices under the Management menu. Click on the device you wish to wipe and select the Wipe device option from the Security drop-down menu.

device list action wipe

2. Verify that the device and user match the device that you wish to wipe and click Wipe.

confirm the wipe

For fully managed Android devices (Device owner), there is more control over the wipe.

wiping android device owner device

Read further about wipe for Android devices if interested.

Follow the progress of a wipe

You can follow the progress by opening the Action log under the Management menu. There you can see the status of the performed security actions.

Action log

Status Accepted by device means that the action is completed in Miradore.

After the wipe, re-enroll the device to continue managing it in Miradore.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Previous Article:
«

Next Article:
»