barscaret-downcaret-leftcaret-rightcaret-upcheckchevron-leftchevron-rightfile-pdfinfosign-in-altsignin text-widthtimesyoutube

iOS > Device Data & Configuration

How to remove iOS supervision and release devices in Apple Business Manager

Updated on September 14th, 2020

Supervision or supervised mode is a special mode for schools and companies to manage iOS devices they own. Supervision gives administrators better control over devices and makes it easier for them to monitor the device compliance with the organization’s policies and regulations.

By default, iOS devices are not supervised but administrators can turn on the supervision when setting up a new device using Apple Configurator or Apple Business/School Manager.

How to tell if an iPad or iPhone is supervised?

On the device, go to Settings > General > About. The device is supervised if you see a text saying “This iPad/iPhone is supervised and managed by (company name)”.

Miradore also shows which devices are supervised, on the Devices page.

Miradore shows you whether your iOS devices are supervised or not.

Supervision status is also visible on the Device page.

A supervised iPhone.

How to disable supervision on an iPhone or iPad?

In most cases, only the institution which owns the device can turn off the supervised mode.

Unenrolling or retiring devices from Miradore does not make them unsupervised.

The supervised mode can be removed by resetting/wiping the device to factory settings (Erase all content and settings) if the supervised mode was enabled using Apple Configurator.

If the device is still supervised after a factory reset, then it has been automatically enrolled and supervised using Apple Business Manager. In this case, you will need to do some configuration changes on Miradore and Apple Business/School Manager portal:

  • Go to Enrollment > Apple DEP page on Miradore.
  • Select the device(s) you want to unsupervise and use the Actions > Remove enrollment profile.

Remove enrollment profile

  • Then reset the device(s) back to factory defaults.

Configure default settings for automated device enrollment

Use the Actions > Enrollment profile settings button to manage the automatic enrollment settings for all iOS devices listed on your Apple Business Manager. From there, you can for example configure whether devices should be automatically supervised or not during the first setup.

Default enrollment profile

How to remove iOS devices from Apple Business Manager

Sometimes you may want to remove an iPad or iPhone from Apple Business Manager entirely, for example, if the device is lost, sold or broken.

You can do that by following the guidance provided on the Apple Business Manager User Guide. It explains how you can release iOS devices in Apple Business Manager.

Get started with Miradore

Start securing your devices and data today with Miradore. Create a site in just a few minutes and start adding devices immediately. You can get started for free and try out the full features with our 14-day Enterprise trial.

No credit card needed.

SIGN UP FOR MIRADORESEE PLANS AND PRICING