barscaret-downcaret-leftcaret-rightcaret-upcheckchevron-leftchevron-rightfile-pdfinfosign-in-altsignin text-widthtimesyoutube

iOS > Device Data & Configuration

Remotely clearing the device passcode

Updated on October 10th, 2022

Clearing the passcode removes the passcode from the device. If a device passcode is forgotten, clearing the passcode from the device can make it accessible again. For effective use of this feature, it is recommended to enforce a passcode policy for managed mobile devices.

The feature is supported on the iOS platform.

Please note that it is recommended that a new device passcode is set as soon as the old passcode has been cleared!

Steps for remotely clearing passcode

1. Open the Devices view from the Management menu. From the list of devices, select the device which passcode you wish to clear and select Clear passcode from the Security dropdown button.

Clearing the passcode from the device.

2. From the opened Clear passcode wizard, verify that the device and its user are correct and click Clear.

Clear passcode from the device.

3. After the Clear passcode action has started, you can follow its progress by opening the Action log view from the Management menu. The Action log view shows the status of the performed security actions.

4. After the passcode has been cleared it is recommended that the device user sets a new passcode.

Previous Article:
«